Khachaturian, Aram

Aram Khachaturian, born on 6th June 1903 in Tbilisi, Georgia, was a highly acclaimed conductor and composer from Armenia and the Soviet Union. Known as one of the most influential Soviet composers, Khachaturian left a profound impact on the world of classical music. His compositions, characterized by colorful harmonies, engaging rhythms, dexterity, and sensual melodies, showcased his unique style and artistic brilliance.

Early Life and Education

Khachaturian's musical journey began in Tbilisi, Georgia, where he was raised in a multicultural environment. In 1921, after the Caucasus region was Sovietized, he moved to Moscow and joined the Gnessin Musical Institute, despite having no prior musical instruction. It was at the Moscow Conservatory, under the guidance of renowned composers like Nikolai Myaskovsky, that Khachaturian honed his skills and developed his musical voice.

Breakthrough Compositions

Khachaturian's breakthrough came with his first significant composition, the Piano Concerto, premiered in 1936. This composition helped establish his reputation both within and beyond the Soviet Union. Building on this success, he went on to create two more iconic concertos: the Violin Concerto in 1940 and the Cello Concerto in 1941. These works showcased Khachaturian's ability to create captivating melodies and demonstrate his virtuosity as a composer.

Ballet Masterpieces: Gayane and Spartacus

Among Khachaturian's most celebrated contributions to the world of music are his ballet compositions. The ballet "Gayane," composed in 1942, tells the story of a young Armenian woman during World War II. The ballet's energetic and vibrant score, including the renowned "Sabre Dance," has captivated audiences worldwide. Another masterpiece, "Spartacus," composed in 1943, explores the story of a Roman slave who leads a rebellion against the oppressive empire. Both ballets showcase Khachaturian's ability to create compelling narratives through his music.

Film Scores and Symphonies

In addition to his concertos and ballets, Khachaturian also made significant contributions to the world of film scores. His talent for evoking emotions through music made him a sought-after composer for the Soviet film industry. Notable film scores include those for "Masquerade Suite" (1941) and approximately 25 other films. Alongside his film compositions, Khachaturian also composed three symphonies, in 1935, 1943, and 1947, further showcasing his versatility as a composer.

Recognition and Controversy

Despite his immense talent and success, Khachaturian faced challenges during his career. In 1948, along with Sergei Prokofiev and Dmitri Shostakovich, his music was labeled "anti-people" and dismissed as "formalist" by the Soviet government. However, his music was restored later that same year. Khachaturian's ability to create a distinct musical style, infused with elements of Armenian, Caucasian, Eastern and Central European, and Middle Eastern folk music, set him apart from his Soviet contemporaries.

Conducting and Worldwide Recognition

After 1950, Khachaturian began conducting, further expanding his artistic repertoire. He toured extensively, captivating audiences in Europe, Latin America, and the United States. Despite the challenges he faced earlier in his career, Khachaturian's talent and dedication led to his appointment as the Secretary of the Union of Soviet Composers in 1957, a position he held until his passing in 1978.

Legacy and Impact

Aram Khachaturian's contributions to the world of music are immeasurable. He wrote the first Armenian ballet music, symphony, concerto, and film score, solidifying his place as a pioneer in Armenian classical music. His unique style and ability to merge traditional Russian music with distinct Armenian influences have made him a revered figure in both Armenia and the international music community. Khachaturian's music continues to inspire future generations of composers and performers, ensuring that his legacy lives on.


Aram Khachaturian's life and music are a testament to his remarkable talent and dedication. From his humble beginnings in Tbilisi to his worldwide recognition, he left an indelible mark on the world of classical music. Through his captivating melodies, vibrant rhythms, and powerful compositions, Khachaturian's music transcends time and borders. His legacy as a prominent Soviet composer and a national treasure of Armenia remains an inspiration for musicians and music lovers alike.

Violin compositions of Aram Khachaturian | Animato Strings


Sticky Add To Cart