Dvorak, Ballad Op.15 & Nocturne Op.40 for Violin & Piano (Masters)

    Dvorak, Ballad Op.15 & Nocturne Op.40 for Violin & Piano (Masters)

    Quantity :

     Customer ratings and reviews
    Nobody has posted a review yet
    in this language

    Dvorak, Ballad Op.15 and Nocturne Op.40 for Violin & Piano

    Edited by Frantisek Bartos

    The Ballade was written late in 1884 shortly after he completed his Seventh Symphony.  It was written for a Christmas edition of the London Magazine of Music.  It is an example of Dvořák’s genius in producing small scale works of great emotional depth.  The Ballad has a tragic and passionate tone similar to his Seventh Symphony; the reflective opening motif, played by the violin, seems to look forward to the style of Janácek.

    The Nocturne is actually Dvorak's transcription of the Intermezzo third movement of Dvorák's String Quintet in G major, Op 77, and was originally part of the single-movement String Quartet in E minor, B19, probably composed in the late 1860s.

    8 other products in the same category:


    Be the first to write your review !


    Sticky Add To Cart