Ysaye 6 Sonatas Op. 27 For Solo Violin (Henle)

Ysaye 6 Sonatas Op. 27 For Solo Violin (Henle)

Quantity :


Ysaye, 6 Sonatas Op. 27 for Solo Violin (Henle) First came Johann Sebastian Bach’s sonatas and partitas, then Nicolò Paganini’s caprices. Now, with the op. 27 sonatas of Eugène Ysaÿe, the key works in the repertoire for unaccompanied violin are available in urtext editions from Henle. Ysaÿe peppered these challenging works with extraordinary difficulties, dedicating each of them to a virtuoso violinist of his day and tailoring it to suit his special capabilities. Thanks to newly discovered source material, we are able to present a “definitive text” that in many respects supersedes the previously available text from the first edition. Eugène Ysaÿe (July 16, 1858 - May 12, 1931) was a Belgian violinist, composer and conductor. He was regarded in his day as "The King of the Violin." At the age of 28, received a professorship at the Brussels Conservatoire. His well known students included, Josef Gingold, William Primrose, Nathan Milstein and Mathieu Crickboom.

4 other products in the same category:


Sticky Add To Cart