Lux Angelis By Stephen Chin

    Lux Angelis By Stephen Chin


    Lux Angelis is an advanced string orchestra piece with optional grade 1 and 2 strings, keyboard, and percussion. It represents light pervading the universe through harmonics and suspended chords. The seventh interval symbolizes the seven days of creation, while the two sections portray the challenges of dark forces. The piece ends with a chorus of angels bathed in light, symbolizing light's resilience.

    Quantity :

     Customer ratings and reviews
    Nobody has posted a review yet
    in this language

    Lux Angelis By Stephen Chin

    Lux Angelis is a majestic and captivating string orchestra composition showcasing the beauty of music. The piece is expertly crafted to be played with grade 1 and grade 2 strings, keyboard, and percussion, making it an accessible yet complex work. The theme of light permeates the entire composition, both in its physical and personal aspects. The use of suspended chords and harmonics creates a unique and ethereal atmosphere that transports the listener to another world. The presence of the seventh interval throughout the piece is a nod to the concept of creation taking seven days. The composition also features two interjecting sections that add a rhythmic drive and a sense of dissonance, representing the challenges that dark forces can present in our lives. Despite these challenges, the composer's message is hope and resilience, as light will always endure and prevail. The piece ends with a heavenly chorus of angels, symbolizing the triumph of light over darkness.

    8 other products in the same category:

    Lords of the Loch by Stephen Chin

    Lords of the Loch is a festival piece for string orchestra, quartet, and optional string ensemble. It's inspired by Finlaggan, a Scottish loch with islands once ruled by lords known for producing and exporting harps.

    For String Orchestra(s) Grades 1, 3.5 & 4

    $128.32 Price

    Gypsy Airs By Stephen Chin

    Pablo Sarasate (1844-1908) was a brilliant Spanish composer and violinist known for his expressive and technically challenging pieces like "The Carmen Fantasy" and "Zigeunerweisen". While retaining the original's virtuosity, this arrangement is accessible to younger musicians.

    For String Orchestra Grade 2.

    $102.68 Price

    Allegro Molto by Franz Schubert arr. Stephen Chin

    Schubert's Sonatina Op. 137, No. 1's Allegro molto movement, originally for violin and piano, has been arranged for strings, making it more accessible.

    Composer Franz Schubert was a skilled violinist who wrote over 12 string quartets by age 19. His first three violin sonatas, including Sonata No. 1 in D major, D 384, were later published as Sonatinas in 1836. The charming piece of music is relatively easy to perform.

    Schubert's "März 1816" sonata has an intimate atmosphere, perfect for a small ensemble. It features three movements: Allegro molto, Andante, and Allegro vivace. The Allegro molto is a lively and fast-paced movement, followed by a slower, more contemplative Andante. The piece concludes with a rousing Allegro vivace.

    $110.00 Price

    Rainbow by Stephen Chin

    This work alludes to Noah's Flood and the rainbow as a symbol of peace. The dream-like opening leads to a turbulent episode with a shared theme. Second orchestra parts are optional but exciting. Great for players of different levels.

    For Intermediate and optional Elementary Strings - Grade 2 & 1

    $128.32 Price

    Rooster Rag By Stephen Chin

    A funky rooster tune with staccato bowing and a catchy melody is featured in this rondo-style piece. The "cock-a-doodle-do" rhythm is present throughout, and the descending bass line adds to the rag-tune feel. Perfect for an early morning rehearsal!

    For String Orchestra Grade 2

    $102.68 Price

    Recuerdos De Buenos Aires By Stephen Chin

    Latin-American music is vibrant! This piece is an extended tango that will make musicians sway. The title, "Reminiscences of Buenos Aires," evokes images of non-stop dancing in the Argentinean capital. String effects such as pizzicato, tremolo, glissando, and lifted-down bows add colour to this pulsating score. Invite audience members to dance while you play for a unique experience.

    For String Orchestra Grade 3.5

    $110.00 Price

    Two Brahms Hungarian Dances By Brahms Arr. Stephen Chin

    Brahms adapted 21 Hungarian Dances for two pianos and later for a symphony orchestra. The 1st Dance has a brooding nature, while the 2nd Dance is characterized by wild changes in tempo and mood. Either could make a rousing finale.

    1. Hungarian Dance No. 1

    2. Hungarian Dance No. 2

    For String Orchestra Grade 3

    $110.00 Price

    Be the first to write your review !


    Sticky Add To Cart