Two Renaissance Pieces By Stephen Chin

    Two Renaissance Pieces By Stephen Chin


    Martin Peerson's "The Fall of the Leafe" depicts a beautiful autumn day with descending notes. Susato's "Battle Pavan" was part of court entertainment and featured a call-and-response style.

    1. The Fall of the Leafe

    2. Battle Pavan

    For String Orchestra Grade 2.5

    Quantity :

     Customer ratings and reviews
    Nobody has posted a review yet
    in this language

    Two Renaissance Pieces By Stephen Chin

    Martin Peerson (1571-1650), a renowned English composer, created a beautiful piece of music called "The Fall of the Leafe." Originally composed for a virginal, softer version of the harpsichord, the piece is known for its descending notes that evoke the wistful feeling of a beautiful autumn day. 

    Another notable piece of music is the "Battle Pavan" by a prolific composer, Susato (1500-1563). This piece was often performed as part of an evening's entertainment at various courts in the Netherlands. The arrangement features a call-and-response style between the sections, adding to the lively and engaging nature of the performance.

    1. The Fall of the Leafe

    2. Battle Pavan

    For String Orchestra Grade 2.5

    8 other products in the same category:

    Recuerdos De Buenos Aires By Stephen Chin

    Latin-American music is vibrant! This piece is an extended tango that will make musicians sway. The title, "Reminiscences of Buenos Aires," evokes images of non-stop dancing in the Argentinean capital. String effects such as pizzicato, tremolo, glissando, and lifted-down bows add colour to this pulsating score. Invite audience members to dance while you play for a unique experience.

    For String Orchestra Grade 3.5

    $110.00 Price

    Allegro In G By Stephen Chin

    Pleyel, Haydn's student, had exceptional musical talent. The Duet Opus 8 no. 2 is a delightful and accessible piece highlighting different parts of the ensemble, showcasing diverse musical techniques like spiccato quavers, slurred string crossings, and martel crotchets. It's a great starting point for those who want to appreciate Classical music.

    This piece of music is intended for a string orchestra with a difficulty level of grade 3.

    $102.68 Price

    Au revoir Budapest by Stephen Chin

    "Good-bye Budapest" is a traditional Hungarian czardas-style music piece. It begins with a haunting melody and languid strings, which then transition into a joyous free-for-all with various orchestra sections taking turns. A melancholic solo violin rendition is followed by the return of the czardas in D major, culminating in a ferocious presto. The music showcases a range of emotions, from introspection to frenzied joy and melancholy to ferocity.

    For String Orchestra Grade 3

    $110.00 Price

    Excalibur By Stephen Chin

    The legend of Excalibur is an exciting tale that captivates young minds. King Arthur's sword, Excalibur, emerges from the waters, followed by a sword dance. The mysterious theme reappears before a thrilling finale. Written for advanced and elementary players, it's a fantastic piece for a string festival or an advanced orchestra.

    For String Orchestra Grade 3 & 1.5 (advanced and optional elementary strings)

    $128.32 Price

    Flight Of The Furies By Nolck Arr. Stephen Chin

    In Greek mythology, the Furies brought the dead to the Underworld and were part of the legend of Orpheus. August Nolck's piece was originally for cello but is now perfect for developing string players' timing precision. The perpetual motion promotes refined right-hand movements and offers opportunities for section solos.

    For String Orchestra Grade 1.5

    $110.00 Price

    Be the first to write your review !


    Sticky Add To Cart