Allegro Molto by Franz Schubert arr. Stephen Chin

    Allegro Molto by Franz Schubert arr. Stephen Chin


    Schubert's Sonatina Op. 137, No. 1's Allegro molto movement, originally for violin and piano, has been arranged for strings, making it more accessible.

    Composer Franz Schubert was a skilled violinist who wrote over 12 string quartets by age 19. His first three violin sonatas, including Sonata No. 1 in D major, D 384, were later published as Sonatinas in 1836. The charming piece of music is relatively easy to perform.

    Schubert's "März 1816" sonata has an intimate atmosphere, perfect for a small ensemble. It features three movements: Allegro molto, Andante, and Allegro vivace. The Allegro molto is a lively and fast-paced movement, followed by a slower, more contemplative Andante. The piece concludes with a rousing Allegro vivace.

    Quantity :

     Customer ratings and reviews
    Nobody has posted a review yet
    in this language

    Allegro Molto by Franz Schubert arr. Stephen Chin

    Imagine yourself sitting in a concert hall filled with the sound of a lively Allegro molto from Schubert's Sonatina Op. 137, No. 1. This delightful piece of music was originally composed for violin and piano and has been arranged for a medium-level string orchestra, making it accessible to a broader audience.

    Schubert, a prodigious composer and a skilled violinist had already composed over a dozen string quartets at the young age of 19. He then began to write violin sonatas, and in 1816, he composed his first three violin sonatas, including Sonata No. 1 in D major, D 384. These sonatas were later published as Sonatinas in 1836 (Op. posth. 137) after the composer's death. The Sonatina No. 1 in D major, D 384, is a charming piece of music that requires relatively little virtuoso bravura from its performers.

    The intimate atmosphere of this piece is perfectly suited for a small ensemble. Schubert wrote "März 1816" (March 1816) on the autograph score of this sonata, which has three movements: Allegro molto, Andante, and Allegro vivace. The Allegro molto is a fast-paced, lively movement that will get your toes tapping and your heart racing. The Andante is a slower, more contemplative movement that provides a peaceful interlude before the final Allegro vivace, which brings the piece to a rousing conclusion.

    Overall, Schubert's Sonatina Op. 137, No. 1 is a delightful piece of music that showcases the composer's talent for creating beautiful melodies and his ability to write music that is both accessible and engaging.

    8 other products in the same category:

    Au revoir Budapest by Stephen Chin

    "Good-bye Budapest" is a traditional Hungarian czardas-style music piece. It begins with a haunting melody and languid strings, which then transition into a joyous free-for-all with various orchestra sections taking turns. A melancholic solo violin rendition is followed by the return of the czardas in D major, culminating in a ferocious presto. The music showcases a range of emotions, from introspection to frenzied joy and melancholy to ferocity.

    For String Orchestra Grade 3

    $110.00 Price

    Rooster Rag By Stephen Chin

    A funky rooster tune with staccato bowing and a catchy melody is featured in this rondo-style piece. The "cock-a-doodle-do" rhythm is present throughout, and the descending bass line adds to the rag-tune feel. Perfect for an early morning rehearsal!

    For String Orchestra Grade 2

    $102.68 Price

    Celtic Dreaming and Dance by Stephen Chin

    This piece is filled with poignant melodies and a haunting main theme that returns towards the end. The rhythmic drive, varied modes, and string crossings make it enjoyable for players. The exquisite sonorities and spellbinding action will dazzle the audience and leave them wanting to dance.

    For String Orchestra Grade 3.5

    $110.00 Price

    Two Postcards from Beijing by Stephen Chin (Grade 1.5)

    Beijing's summer gardens are a wondrous place for a nocturnal stroll. "Jasmine Nights" and "Dragon Fire" are two musical pieces that capture the essence of the city's beauty and excitement.

    1. Jasmine Nights

    2. Dragon Fire

    For String Orchestra Grade 1.5

    $110.00 Price

    Appassionato In E Minor By Pleyel Arr. Stephen Chin

    Pleyel, a renowned musician and entrepreneur in early 19th century Paris, wrote a beautiful piece for two violins in the late Classical style. The piece follows the sonata form and features a brooding first theme contrasted with an impish second theme played in staccato quavers. The movement ends with a lively duel between the violins, adding vibrancy and passion to the piece. Your orchestra will love it!

    For String Orchestra Grade 3.5

    $110.00 Price

    Twelve Curtain Raisers by Stephen Chin

    This set of twelve short pieces is for basic orchestras and helps young musicians learn important string techniques. The pieces incorporate hissing, slapping of instruments, foot stomping, and improvisation to make playing in a string ensemble more enjoyable.

    1. Pickin' 'n' Peckin'

    2. Desert Nights

    3. War Zone

    4. Bagpipes

    5. Attack of the Flying Insects

    6. Raindrops

    7. A Pirate's Shanty

    8. Valse Enchante

    9. Silk

    10. Hootenanny Hoedown

    11. Russian Easter Hymn

    12. Surf's Up!

    For String Orchestra Grade 1

    $194.27 Price

    Allegro From Sonata In E Minor By Mozart Arr. Stephen Chin

    Mozart composed over 30 violin sonatas during his lifetime. Among these works, only one sonata stands out for being entirely in a minor key. This particular sonata is known for its dark, brooding and energetic nature. It also features spiccato and martele articulations, which were crucial to the Classical style of music. This piece is appropriate for Grade 4 string orchestras.

    $110.00 Price

    Be the first to write your review !


    Sticky Add To Cart